ЦВМ YouTube ЦВМ Instagram ЦВМ Вконтакте История русского флота

The scientific activity of A.S. Popov in Kronshtadt

The development of technology and the complication of naval mine weaponry required the fleet staff's new level of special knowledge. In 1874, the Miners Training Detachment was formed in Kronstadt; on 1 October, the Officers' Mine Class and the Mining School were opened, that became one of the best electrical engineering schools in Russia.

Starting from 1883, an outstanding scientist Alexander Popov worked here and was engaged in scientific work for 18 years, first as a laboratory assistant at the physics room, and later - as a teacher of electricity and electrical engineering at the Officers' Mine Class and the Technical College of Naval Department. He explored the nature of electromagnetic waves and made the first demonstration of experiments with electromagnetic waves and transmission of signals over a distance in 1889. In 1895, he created "a device for detection and recording of electrical oscillations", and on April 25 (May 7) of the same year, in one of the lecture halls of St. Petersburg University, the world first public demonstration of transmission and reception of electromagnetic oscillations over a distance - that is, radio communication - took place. G. Marconi, a scientist well known in the west, filed a patent application for wireless telegraph (without demonstrating the device) in England only on July 2, 1896.

The primary development of radio engineering, the organization of first courses of wireless operators is connected with A.S. Popov's name. In September 1900, owing to his contribution, the first Russian radio shop was set up in Kronshtadt, to manufacture radio transmitting equipment. It laid the foundation of the national radio industry.

Vice-Admiral S.O. Makarov promoted the introduction of radio in the Navy. After two years of hard work aimed to improve his invention, in 1897 A.S. Popov started experiments with radio communication between the cruisers "Russia", "Africa", "Europe", extending the radio traffic length to 5 km, and in 1901 - to 150 km. In 1899, Popov created a "telephone receiver" for aural reception of radio signals by headphones and patented it.

For the first time in the world, the practical radio line operated from February to April 1900 in the Gulf of Finland between the islands of Hogland and Kuutsalo, at the time of rescue of the coast defence battleship "General Admiral Apraksin" which bumped up against the rocks at the Island of Hogland. It also became possible to save a group of fishermen carried away on the ice plate to the sea, by notifying the icebreaker "Ermak" in due time, that came to rescue. After these operations, the Maritime Ministry of Russia prescribed to equip the ships with wireless telegraphy. By 1904, the fleet had already 75 radio stations based on A.S. Popov's system.

In February 1896, at the request of the chief doctor of Kronstadt naval hospital, A.S. Popov designed an X-ray apparatus which was installed in the X-ray diagnostic room of the hospital. The same units were also installed on the ships of the Russian Navy.

From 1901, A.S. Popov taught at St. Petersburg Institute of Electrical Engineering and in 1905 became its first elected rector. On December 31, 1905 (January 13, 1906) A.S. Popov deceased...

On April 24, 1906, the naval mining officers arranged a party at the Officers' Mine Class to commemorate Alexander Stepanovitch Popov. An exhibition of instruments created by Popov and his disciples was organized. It was decided to preserve this exhibition and to make it a division of the Navy training facilities. It became a backbone of the present A.S. Popov's Memorial Cabinet.

ЦВМ YouTube ЦВМ Instagram ЦВМ Вконтакте История русского флота

Научная деятельность А.С. Попова в Кронштадте

Развитие техники, усложнение морского минного оружия требовало повышения уровня специальных знаний личного состава флота. В 1874 году в Кронштадте был сформирован Учебно-минный отряд и 1 октября открыты Минный офицерский класс и Минная школа, ставшие одними из лучших в России электро-технических учебных заведений.

С 1883 года в течение 18 лет здесь работал, сначала лаборантом физического кабинета, а затем преподавателем электричества и электротехники в Минном офицерском классе и Техническом училище морского ведомства, занимался научной деятельностью выдающийся ученый Александр Степанович Попов. Изучал природу электромагнитных волн, первые демонстрации опытов с электромагнитными волнами и передачу сигналов на расстоянии провел в 1889 году. В 1895 году он создал «прибор для обнаружения и регистрирования электрических колебаний», а 25 апреля (7 мая) этого же года в одной из аудиторий С.-Петербургского университета состоялась первая в мире публичная демонстрация передачи и приема электромагнитных колебаний на расстоянии, то есть радиосвязи. Известный на Западе Г. Маркони подал патентную заявку на беспроволочный телеграф (без демонстрации прибора) в Англии только 2 июля 1896 года.

Начало развития радиотехники, организации первых курсов радиотелеграфистов связано с именем А.С .Попова. В сентябре 1900 года его усилиями в Кронштадте была создана первая в России радиомастерская по изготовлению приемо-передающей аппаратуры. Она положила начало отечественной радиопромышленности.

Внедрению радио на флоте способствовал вице-адмирал С.О. Макаров. После двух лет упорной работы по усовершенствованию своего изобретения, в 1897 году А.С. Попов приступил к опытам радиосвязи между крейсерами «Россия», «Африка», «Европа», доведя дальность радиообмена до 5 км, а в 1901 году - до 150 км. В 1899 году Попов создал «телефонный приемник депеш» для слухового приема радиосигналов на головные телефоны и запатентовал его.

Впервые в мире практическая радиолиния работала с февраля но апрель 1900 года в Финском заливе между островами Гогланд и Кутсало при спасении броненосца береговой обороны «Генерал-адмирал Апраксин», выскочившего на камни у о. Гогланд. Удалось также спасти группу рыбаков, унесенных на льдине в море, своевременно оповестив ледокол «Ермак», который пришел на помощь. После этих операций Морское министерство России дало указание об оснащении кораблей беспроволочным телеграфом. К 1904 году на флоте работало уже 75 радиостанций системы А.С. Попова.

В феврале 1896 года, по просьбе главного доктора Кронштадтского военно-морского госпиталя, A.C. Попов создает рентгеновский аппарат, который был установлен в рентгенодиагностическом кабинете госпиталя. Такие же аппараты устанавливались и на кораблях Российского флота.

С 1901 года А.С. Попов преподавал в С.-Петербургском электротехническом институте, а в 1905 году стал его первым избранным ректором. 31 декабря 1905 года (13 января 1906 года) А.С. Попова не стало...

24 апреля 1906 года морские офицеры-минеры устроили в Минном офицерском классе вечер памяти Александра Степановича Попова. Была организована выставка приборов. созданных Поповым и его учениками. Эту выставку было решено сохранить и сделать подразделением учебной части ВМФ. она и стала основой нынешнего Мемориального кабинета А.С. Попова.