ЦВМ Instagram ЦВМ Вконтакте История русского флота

Exhibition "Returning from a Distant Journey..."

Peter I laid the beginning of systematic scientific study of geography of Russia and adjacent territories - this was caused by huge expansion of the Russian possessions in the Far East and the need to develop the national navigation in the Pacific waters. In virtue of Russia's geopolitical position, the northern part of the Pacific Ocean was particularly in the focus of attention of "Russian Columbuses", which resulted in the Russians’ settling on the coast of the American continent, creating "the Russian America", which area existed till transfer of all the Russian north-Pacific territories to America in 1867.

By the end of the 18th - beginning of the 19th centuries, Russia's exploration activities in this region became even more active. One of the outstanding researchers of that period was Gavriil Andreevich Sarychev (having the rank of Admiral from 1829) - a prominent oceanographer of his time, a predecessor of the Russian seamen-travellers who made themselves known after their round-the-world voyages of the first half of the 19th century. The exhibition presents "local area sketches" enclosed to the report on expeditions of the ship "Glory of Russia" - "The eight-year voyages of Captain Sarychev's fleet in the eastern part of Siberia, the Arctic Ocean and the Eastern Ocean within the framework of the geographic and astronomic maritime expedition of 1788-1795" - a unique document including not only geographical, but also meteorological, hydrographical, astronomical, ethnological and biological records.

The round-the-world expeditions resolved many ambiguities in the old geographic science. The numerous foreign "discoveries" of various mythical islands were refuted, mainly in the southern waters of the Pacific (Denster, St. Bartholomew, Colunas, Mario Lazaro and others). The numerous Russian place names scattered around the world serve as a monument to seafaring that glorified Russia and raised the national navigation to a new height. The first national world cruises played an important role in the development of many branches of knowledge - oceanography, hydrography, ethnography, meteorology, etc. The participation of famous scientists in the voyages undoubtedly enriched the world science.

The exhibition presents unique evidences of the era of Russian sailing circumnavigation trips - ship logs, atlases, maps, drawing albums, models of Russian ships and various aboriginal boats, household items, samples of marine fauna. Of particular value are such relics as two globes belonging to Kruzenstern and Bellingshausen’s terrestrial telescope. It is important that after disbanding the collection of the Naval Museum in 1827, most of the materials of Russian expeditions stored in the museum were transferred to the Academy of Sciences; subsequently they made up a significant part of the Museum of Anthropology and Ethnography (Kunstkamera) collection deemed to be the best in the world in this profile.

ЦВМ Instagram ЦВМ Вконтакте История русского флота

Выставка "Из дальних странствий возвратясь..."

Морские победы одерживаются не только в сражениях. Становясь великой морской державой, Россия в XVIII – XIX веках активно участвовала в освоении просторов Мирового океана. Плавания российских военных моряков вписали яркую страницу в историю отечественного флота.

Начало системному научному изучению географии России и сопредельных территорий положил Петр I – это было вызвано гигантским расширением владений России на Дальнем Востоке и необходимостью развития отечественного мореплавания в тихоокеанских водах. В силу геополитического положения России, именно северная часть Тихого океана находилась в центре особого внимания «российских Колумбов», благодаря чему русские водворились на побережье американского материка, создав «Русскую Америку», просуществовавшую вплоть до продажи США всех ее территорий в 1867 году.

К концу XVIII – началу XIX веков изыскания России в этом регионе становятся еще более активными. Одним из выдающихся исследователей этого периода стал Гавриил Андреевич Сарычев (адмирал с 1829 г.) – крупнейший океанограф своего времени, предшественник русских моряков – путешественников, проявивших себя уже в кругосветных плаваниях первой половины XIX века. На выставке представлены «приложения-зарисовки местности» к отчету экспедиций на корабле «Слава России» - «Путешествия флота капитана Сарычева по восточной части Сибири, Ледовитому морю и Восточному океану в продолжение восьми лет, при географической и астрономической морской экспедиции 1788 – 1795 гг.», уникальному документу, включающему в себя не только географические, но и метеорологические, гидрографические, астрономические, этнологические, биологические наблюдения.

Кругосветные экспедиции разрешили много неясностей в старой географической науке. Были опровергнуты многочисленные иностранные «открытия» различных мифических островов, преимущественно в южных водах Тихого океана (Денстера, Св. Варфоломея, Колунас, Mario Lazaro и др.). Памятником мореплаваний, прославивших Россию и поднявших отечественное мореходство на новую высоту, служат многочисленные русские названия, разбросанные в различных пунктах земного шара. Первые отечественные кругосветные плавания сыграли большую роль в развитии многих отраслей знания – океанографии, гидрографии, этнографии, метеорологии и др. Участие в плаваниях известных ученых несомненно обогатило мировую науку.

На выставке представлены уникальные свидетельства эпохи российских парусных кругосветок – корабельные журналы, атласы, карты, альбомы рисунков, модели российских кораблей и различных плавсредств аборигенов, предметы быта, образцы морской фауны. Особое внимание обращают на себя такие реликвии, как два глобуса, принадлежавший Крузенштерну, подзорная труба Беллинсгаузена. Знаменателен тот факт, что после раскассирования Морского музея в 1827 году большая часть хранившихся в музее материалов российских экспедиций была передана Академии наук и в дальнейшем составила значительную часть коллекции Музея антропологии и этнографии (Кунсткамера), считающуюся лучшей в мире по данному направлению.

ЭКСПОНАТЫ