ЦВМ Instagram ЦВМ Вконтакте История русского флота

Exhibition "The Sea Symphony by Ivan Aivazovsky"

The collection of pictorial art of the Central Naval Museum contains over 20 paintings by the seascape artist. The portrait of Vice-Admiral M.P. Lazarev created in 1839 pertains to the commencement of the artist's creative path, when a young academy graduate Ovanes Gayvazyan took part in the Caucasian expedition of General N.N. Rayevsky. In the portrait Lazarev is depicted full-length on the deck of ship "Silistria". Having a small size of the canvas, the portrait is painted according to the laws of the ceremonial portrait and conveys the significance of the admiral’s personality. Two canvases depicting coastal cities - "Kronstadt Raid. Fort "Emperor Alexander I" and "Sveaborg" – are the first paintings executed by Aivazovsky in 1844 by the order of Emperor Nicholas I, immediately after returning from his graduate trip to Europe.

In the hall one may see the paintings of historical and battle genres, telling about the everyday life of seamen in the peacetime. "Battle of Steamship "Vesta" and Turkish Ironclad "Fethi-Bulend", "Capturing of the Turkish Ship "Mersina" by Steamer "Russia" are the paintings created very quickly during the Russian-Turkish war of 1877- 1878. In later life Aivazovsky often turned to the memories of the happy years of his youth. The master created a number of works reminding of the former greatness of the Russian sailing fleet and the sovereign Nicholas I, such as "Maneuvers of the Black Sea Fleet" (1886), "Squadron of the Black Sea Fleet before entering into Sevastopol Bay” (1895).

The seascape painter often visited the Baltic, Black and Mediterranean seas, crossed the Atlantic Ocean; observed sunrises and sunsets, storms and calms, moonlit nights and clear days - they became his favourite motifs forming the sea symphony of the painter. All of the artist's works are permeated with music and poetry. Aivazovsky played musical instruments himself, and maybe because of this his paintings, especially those depicting moonlit nights, are associated with nocturnes, the favourite pieces of music of romantic composers. The canvas "Moonlit Night" with the image of Constantinople (Istanbul) reveals the unique individuality of the master of "lunar paths". The numerous mosques and minarets, the domed church of Aya Sofya, the spicy smells of bazaars, the oriental clothes attracted Aivazovsky more than Italian cities, as he confessed.

Most of all he liked to depict the beauty and power of gales and storms. The number of paintings devoted to this theme exceeds 4,000. The plot of the picture "The Wreck of Ship "Ingermanland" in Skagerrake" (1860s) is based on a real event that took place in August 1842 near the Norwegian coast. The ship "Ingermanland" clashed against the rocks in a stormy weather. 389 people perished tragically. Aivazovsky depicted one of the most dramatic moments of the disaster. "Shipwreck near Mount Athos" refers to fictional works that were born as the artist's fantasied in his studio. In the paintings of that kind, the artist combined the romantic features with a realistic vision; the tragedy comes along with hope in them, the man comes across the elements.

The artist was attracted by biblical and evangelical plots. The exhibition presents a work "Shipwreck of Lefort"; according to the artist’s and the customer’s plan (it was ordered by the naval officers of Kronstadt), it was to be placed in the Kronstadt chapel. The image of a ship that sank in the Baltic in 1857 was to be perceived as a requiem to all those who perished at sea. But Alexander II ordered to hang it "for its status of a picture" in Kronstadt Maritime Assembly.

In 1852 I.K. Aivazovsky created some small-format pictures (28 x 38.5 cm). The works captured the moments of Nicholas I’s visiting Sevastopol shortly before the Crimean War. The artist himself was present at a steam frigate "Vladimir" together with the emperor and the grand dukes. St. Petersburg publisher A.M. Prevo printed lithographs of these pictures. The exhibition presents some sheets of this series, donated in 1962 to the Central Naval Museum by a former Russian officer, 1st Rank Captain P. Keller. Several paintings of this series were lost during the Great Patriotic War. Only the lithographs have preserved their image.

The exhibition presents the graphic works from the State Memorial Estate "Peterhof", for the first time in St. Petersburg. Fourteen drawings by I.K. Aivazovsky, depicting the port cities of Nikolaev and Sevastopol, were executed in 1845-1846. The graphic series preceded the execution of the royal order commissioned to Aivazovsky - to commemorate the views of Black Sea ports. The artist was assigned to the retinue of Emperor Nicholas I; "he was commanded to accompany the Emperor during the naval manoeuvres and inspection of the fleet in the Black Sea for drawing paintings". The on-location graphic sheets appeared in parallel with the picturesque canvases. In addition to documentary thoroughness, they are distinguished by virtuosity of execution. Using only a graphite-pencil drawing, without resorting to chiaroscuro, Aivazovsky achieved the finest transition of effects in depicting the volume and depth.

The exhibition "The Sea Symphony by Ivan Aivazovsky" invites the viewer to meet with the master's canvases once again, to plunge into the water and sky elements and to ponder over the phenomenon of the artist who has remained one of the most popular and beloved in the world for almost 200 years.

ЦВМ Instagram ЦВМ Вконтакте История русского флота

Выставка "Морская симфония Ивана Айвазовского"

На выставке, посвященной 200-летию со дня рождения Ивана Константино­вича Айвазовского, представлены работы, которые знакомят зрителя лишь с небольшой частью значительного наследия мастера. Однако произведения раскрывают весь диапазон творчества, охватывают период, начиная с Айва­зовского академиста и заканчивая годом его 80-летия.

В собрании произведений изобразительного искусства Центрального воен­но-морского музея хранится более 20 живописных работ мариниста. К началу творческого пути художника относится портрет вице-адмирала М.П. Лазаре­ва, созданный в 1839 году, когда молодой академист Ованес Гайвазян при­нимал участие в Кавказской экспедиции генерала Н.Н. Раевского. На портрете Лазарев изображен в полный рост на палубе корабля «Силистрия». При ма­лом размере произведения портрет написан по законам парадного портрета и передает значительность личности адмирала. Два полотна с изображением приморских городов - «Кронштадтский рейд. Форт «Император Александр I» и «Свеаборг» - первые работы, которые Айвазовский исполнил в 1844 году как заказ императора Николая I, сразу после возвращения из пенсионерской поездки по Европе.

В зале представлены полотна исторического и батального жанров, о жизни и быте моряков в мирное время. «Бой парохода “Веста” с турецким броненосцем “Фетхи-Буленд”», «Захват пароходом “Россия” турецкого транспорта “Мерсина”» — картины, написанные чрезвычайно быстро в ходе Русско-турецкой войны 1877-1878 годов. На склоне лет Айвазовский часто обращался к воспоминани­ям о счастливых годах молодости. Из-под кисти мастера выходят произведе­ния, напоминавшие о былом величии русского парусного флота и государе Николае I, такие как «Маневры Черноморского флота» (1886), «Эскадра Чер­номорского флота перед входом на Севастопольский рейд» (1895).

Маринист не раз бывал на Балтийском, Черном и Средиземном морях, пере­секал Атлантический океан. Наблюдал восходы и закаты, штормы и штили, лунные ночи и ясные дни, — они и стали излюбленными мотивами, из кото­рых складывалась морская симфония живописца. Все творчество художника пронизано музыкой и поэзией. Айвазовский сам играл на музыкальных ин­струментах, и может от того, его картины, особенно с изображением лунных ночей, ассоциируются с ноктюрнами, любимыми произведениями композиторов-романтиков. Полотно «Лунная ночь», с изображением Константинополя (Стамбула), раскрывает неповторимую индивидуальность мастера «лунных дорожек». Многочисленные мечети и минареты, купольный храм Айя-София, пряный запах базара, восточные наряды привлекали, по признанию Айвазов­ского, больше, чем итальянские города.

Он более всего любил изображать красоту и мощь бури, штормы. Количество картин на эту тему превышает 4000. Сюжет произведения «Крушение кора­бля “Ингерманланд” в Скагерраке» (1860-е) основан на реальном событии, которое произошло в августе 1842 года у норвежского побережья. Линейный корабль «Ингерманланд» в штормовую погоду налетел на подводные камни. Трагически погибли 389 человек. Айвазовский изобразил один из наиболее драматических моментов катастрофы. «Кораблекрушение у Афонской горы» относится к вымышленным произведениям, рождавшимся в фантазиях ху­дожника в его мастерской. В картинах такого плана художник соединял ро­мантические черты с реалистическим видением, в них трагедия сочетается с надеждой, человек — со стихией.

Привлекали художника библейские и евангельские сюжеты. На выставке представлена работа «Гибель корабля “Лефорт”», по замыслу художника и заказчика (морских офицеров Кронштадта) ее предполагалось поместить в кронштадтскую часовню. Образ затонувшего в 1857 году на Балтике корабля звучал бы как реквием всем погибшим на водах. Но Александр II повелел по­весить ее «как картину» в Кронштадтском Морском собрании.

И.К. Айвазовский в 1852 году создал несколько картин небольшого форма­та (28 х 38,5 см). Произведения запечатлели моменты посещения Севасто­поля Николаем I незадолго до начала Крымской войны. Вместе с императо­ром и великими князьями на пароходофрегате «Владимир» присутствовал и художник. Санкт-петербургский издатель А.М. Прево напечатал с картин литографии. На выставке представлены листы этой серии, подаренные в 1962 году Центральному военно-морскому музею бывшим русским офицером, капитаном 1 ранга П. Келлером. Несколько полотен этой серии были утраче­ны в годы Великой Отечественной войны. Только литографии сохранили нам представление о них.

Впервые в Санкт-Петербурге представлены графические работы из Го­сударственного музея-заповедника «Петергоф». Четырнадцать рисунков И.К. Айвазовского с изображением портовых городов Николаева и Севасто­поля исполнены в 1845-1846 годах. Графическая серия предшествовала ис­полнению императорского заказа, полученного Айвазовским, по составле­нию видов черноморских портов. Художник был прикомандирован к свите императора Николая I, и «ему было повелено сопутствовать Государю Импе­ратору при морских маневрах и смотре флота в Черном море для составления картин», параллельно с живописными полотнами возникали натурные гра­фические листы. Помимо документальной тщательности их отличает вирту­озность исполнения. Используя только рисунок графитным карандашом, не прибегая к светотени, Айвазовский достиг тончайших переходов эффектов в передаче объема и глубины.

Выставка «Морская симфония Ивана Айвазовского» предлагает зрителю еще раз встретиться с полотнами мастера, окунуться в стихии воды и неба и задуматься над феноменом творчества художника, который почти 200 лет остается одним из наиболее востребованных и любимых в мире.

ЭКСПОНАТЫ