ЦВМ Instagram ЦВМ Вконтакте История русского флота

Exhibition "Patron of the Russian Navy, General Admiral Grand Duke Konstantin Nikolaevich - dedicated to his 190th anniversary"

Grand Duke Konstantin Nikolaevich, the second son of Emperor Nicholas I, was born on 9 (21) September, 1827 in St. Petersburg. He was prepared for maritime service from early childhood.

In 1831, his father appointed him patron of the Naval Guards and granted the title of general admiral to the four-year-old son – the rank of his grandfather Emperor Paul I. In 1832, the five-year-old Grand Duke proceeded to studying sciences and was trained on a comprehensive basis at home under the guidance of Fedor Petrovich Litke, researcher and seafarer, captain 1 rank, later - Admiral, invited as his tutor and mentor.

At the age of eight, the young Grand Duke set out on his first voyage on the Hercules warship. At the age of 17, he commanded the Ulysses brigantine, at 18 - sailed around Europe, at 20 was a commander of the Pallada frigate. In total, he guided about 50 naval campaigns.

Being a multi-talented man, Konstantin Nikolaevich was well versed in various fields of politics, science and culture. In 1848, he was promoted to Rear Admiral, appointed patron of the Sea Cadet Corps and commander of the Finnish Life Guards Regiment. In 1850, Konstantin Nikolaevich took charge of the Committee for Revision of the Corpus of Maritime Regulations, became a member of the State Council. From 1855, he took the command of the fleet and maritime administration in the capacity of minister; he put much effort for improvement and re-equipment of the Russian fleet. During his generalship of the fleet, a number of important reforms was carried out: the former sailing fleet was replaced by a steamship fleet; the term of military service of lower ranks was reduced from 25 to 10 years; corporal punishment was abolished. The journal Naval Bulletin published by the Ministry, became an aboveboard mouthpiece of new trends, publishing the articles on the issues far beyond the specific fleet profile.

Upon accession to the throne of his brother Alexander II, Konstantin Nikolaevich took an active part in the work of the Finance Committee, in the preparation of judicial and peasant reforms. Being a staunch supporter of emancipation of peasants, he headed the Committee on Peasant Problems in 1860. From 1865 to 1881 he was the Chairman of the State Council and the Admiralty Council; he held a number of honourable posts in Russia, Austria-Hungary, Prussia and Bavaria. He was an honorary member of the Imperial Academy of Sciences, the Imperial Academy of Medical Surgery, the Russian Archaeological Society, as well as the Chairman of the Imperial Russian Geographical Society.

After the death of Alexander II in 1881, Konstantin Nikolaevich was dismissed from all posts. On 13 (25) January 1892, he died in Pavlovsk after a grave and extended illness and was buried in St. Peter and Paul Cathedral in St. Petersburg.

ЦВМ Instagram ЦВМ Вконтакте История русского флота

Выставка "Шеф Российского флота генерал-адмирал Великий князь Константин Николаевич. К 190-летию со дня рождения"

28 сентября 2017 года в выставочном комплексе Центрального военно-морского музея начала работу выставка "Шеф Российского флота генерал-адмирал Великий князь Константин Николаевич", посвященная 190-летию со дня рождения этого выдающегося деятеля отечественной военно-морской истории.

Великий князь Константин Николаевич, второй сын императора Николая I, родился 9 (21) сентября 1827 года в Санкт Петербурге. С раннего детства его стали готовить к морской службе.

В 1831 году отец назначил его шефом Морского Гвардейского экипажа и пожаловал четырехлетнему сыну звание генерал-адмирала, которое носил до него его дед, император Павел I. С 1832 года пятилетний Великий князь приступил к изучению наук, стал получать систематическое домашнее образование под руководством исследователя и мореплавателя капитана 1 ранга, впоследствии адмирала Федора Петровича Литке, приглашенного в качестве его воспитателя и наставника.

В восемь лет юный Великий князь отправился в свое первое морское плавание на военном корабле «Геркулес». В 17 лет он командовал бригом «Улисс», в 18 — совершает плавание вокруг Европы, в 20 — ко­мандир фрегата «Паллада». Всего им было совершено около 50 морских кампаний.

Будучи человеком разносторонне одаренным, Константин Николаевич был сведущ в различных областях политики, науки и культуры. В 1848 году он был произведен в контр-адмиралы, назначен шефом Морского кадетского корпуса и командиром лейб-гвардии Финляндского полка. В 1850 году Константин Николаевич возглавил Комитет по пересмотру свода морских уставов, стал членом Государственного совета. С 1855 года вступил в управление флотом и морским ведомством на правах министра, много сделал для улучшения Российского флота и его переоснащения. За время его руководства флотом был проведен целый ряд важных реформ: прежний парусный флот заменен паровым, срок военной службы нижних чинов был сокращен с 25 до 10 лет, отменены телесные наказания. Журнал «Морской сборник», издававшийся министерством, стал открытым выразителем новых тенденций, помещая статьи по вопросам, далеко выходившим за пределы специальных флотских интересов.

С вступлением на престол его брата Александра II Константин Николаевич принимал активное участие в работе Финансового комитета, в подготовке судебной и крестьянской реформ. Являясь убежденным сторонником освобождения крестьян, в 1860 году он возглавил комитет по крестьянскому делу. С 1865 по 1881 год — председатель Государственного совета и Адмиралтейств-совета, занимал ряд почетных должностей в России. Австро-Венгрии, Пруссии и Баварии. Состоял почетным членом Императорской Академии наук, Императорской медико-хирургической академии, Русского археологического общества, а также председателем Императорского Русского географического общества.

После смерти Александра II, в 1881 году, Константин Николаевич был уволен со всех должностей. 13 (25) января 1892 года после тяжелой и продолжительной болезни скончался в Павловске и был похоронен в Петропавловском соборе Санкт-Петербурга.

ЭКСПОНАТЫ