ЦВМ YouTube ЦВМ Instagram ЦВМ Вконтакте История русского флота

Exhibition "Captured by Poseidon. Pages of shipwrecks history"

The exposition recounts the wreck of the 74-gun ship "Ingermanland" (1842), frigate "Diana" (1855), 84-gun ship "Lefort" (1857), clipper ship "Oprichnik" (1861), propeller-driven frigates "Oleg" (1862) and "Alexander Nevsky" (1868), corvette "Novik" (1863), coast defence battleship "Rusalka" (Mermaid) (1893), squadron battleship "Gangut "(1897) and other vessels of the Russian Imperial Navy.

According to the oceanographers, at least one million ships are lying on the bottom of the ocean at present; from the year 1500 to our time, about three thousand vessels sank in the sea every year. According to the estimates, there is, on the average, one sunken ship per every forty square kilometres of the bottom of seas and oceans.

Even our enlightened age does not belittle the hazards lying in wait for the seafarer out in the ocean. At first thought, it seems strange and absurd that the development of science and technology does not reduce the number of sea accidents on the whole. The mankind is more knowledgeable about the structure of Martian deserts than the vast secret depths of its own planet - and regular shipwrecks are its telltale evidence.

The history of conquering the ocean and, accordingly, the history of shipwrecks counts about ten thousand years. Sea accidents have been claiming human lives since time immemorial; valuable goods, mechanisms and equipment – the dumb witnesses of history and culture - go to the bottom. Stories of treasures lying beneath the ocean so far excite imagination of numerous adventurers and explorers of sea depths' mysteries.

The exhibition will be open from May 18 to August 19, 2018

Curator of the exhibition  - A.Yu. Evstafiev

Artwork: Design director of Central Naval Museum V.Yu. Sergeev.

ЦВМ Instagram ЦВМ Вконтакте История русского флота

Выставка "В плену у Посейдона. Страницы истории кораблекрушений"

Экспозиция повествует о гибели 74-пушечного корабля «Ингерманланд» (1842 г.), фрегата «Диана» (1855 г.), 84-пушечного корабля «Лефорт» (1857 г.), клипера «Опричник» (1861 г.), винтовых фрегатов «Олег» (1862 г.) и «Александр Невский» (1868 г.), корвета «Новик» (1863 г.), броненосца береговой обороны «Русалка» (1893 г.), эскадренного броненосца «Гангут» (1897 г.) и других кораблей Российского императорского флота.

По сведениям океанографов в настоящее время на дне океана покоится не менее одного миллиона судов, и с 1500 г. до нашего времени каждый год в море гибло примерно около трех тысяч единиц. Подсчитано, что на каждые сорок квадратных километров дна морей и океанов приходится в среднем одно затонувшее судно.

Даже наш просвещенный век не умаляет опасностей, поджидающих мореплавателя в открытом океане. На первый взгляд кажется странным и нелепым, что развитие науки и техники в целом не сокращает количества морских катастроф. Человечество больше разбирается в устройстве марсианских пустынь, чем в бескрайней глубине тайн собственной планеты — и постоянные кораблекрушения тому красноречивое свидетельство.

История покорения водной стихии и соответственно история кораблекрушений насчитывает около десяти тысяч лет. Морские катастрофы уносили и уносят человеческие жизни, уходят на дно ценные грузы, механизмы и снаряжение — немые свидетели истории и культуры. До сих пор будоражат воображение различных авантюристов и исследователей тайн морских глубин истории о сокровищах, лежащих на дне океана.

Выставка будет работать с 18 мая по 2 декабря 2018 года

Куратор выставки А.Ю. Евстафьев.

Художественное решение: главный художник ЦВММ В.Ю. Сергеев.

Буклет выставки

ЭКСПОНАТЫ