ЦВМ Instagram ЦВМ Вконтакте История русского флота

The battle route

In autumn 1903, the cruiser Aurora set off for the Far East as a part of detachment guided by Rear Admiral A.A. Virenius, under command of Captain 1st Rank I.V. Sukhotin, but in connection with the outbreak of the Russian-Japanese war it was returned to Russia from the Red Sea. The second commanding officer of the Aurora was Captain 1st Rank Evgeny Romanovich Yegoriev - an experienced seaman who had served in the sea in the Far East for many years and who had commanded four ships before being assigned to command the Aurora.

The Aurora was assigned to 2nd Pacific Squadron under command of Vice Admiral Z.P. Rozhdestvensky; in September 1904 the detachment set off for the rescue of Port Arthur beleaguered by the Japanese. The navigation took place in difficult maritime and climatic conditions and involved numerous coal pickups in the open sea made by the whole ship's crew, including the officers. During the coal loading, the ship’s band, cheering the crew, was playing bravura music. The Aurora invariably took over record-breaking amounts of coal, even double amounts - up to 1,300 tons, which was appreciated even by the squadron commander who was normally chary of praise. In December 1904 Port Arthur fell, and the Rozhdestvensky squadron ships were ordered to break through to Vladivostok.

After a heroic move of 18,000 miles (over 33 thousand kilometres), the ships of the 2nd Pacific squadron met the Japanese fleet in the Korea Strait, near Tsushima islands. Despite the resistance, courage and heroism of the seamen, the Russian squadron was defeated. The Aurora protected the transport ships in the battle; it sustained serious damage and was forced to turn south to the Philippine Islands along with the cruisers Oleg and Pearl. The commander of the Aurora, Captain 1st Rank Evgeny Romanovich Yegoriev and 14 sailors died a heroic death in the Tsushima battle, and 83 seaman were injured. In spite of the damage, the cruiser retained buoyancy, sea stability and speed.

In the port of Manila in the Philippines, Aurora, Oleg and Pearl were interned by the American colonial administration till the end of the war. The combat damage was hastily repaired to secure the ship’s return to Russia.

On the eve of the First World War, the cruiser Aurora underwent modernization and rearmament. The combat power of the ship improved significantly. The number of 6-inch (152-mm) main battery guns increased from 8 to 14.

The Aurora took part in World War I as part of the Second Brigade of Baltic Fleet cruisers. It comprised the ships constructed right before the Russian-Japanese war and the vessels that took part in combats and battles, further upgraded. The Aurora provided the activities of the main high sea fleet, was on naval patrol service, escorted the patrols, minelaying operations and minesweeping actions, was engaged in air defence of naval bases. Its low speed prevented its use in long-range operations.

The actions of the Aurora’s crew contributed to the success of operations of the Baltic Fleet light forces against the German ships in the Baltic Sea and support of the Russian XII Army operations in the fight against the enemy’s land forces on the coast of the Gulf of Riga in 1915-1916.

In the autumn of 1916, the Aurora was moved for repair to Petrograd, to the Admiralty Shipyard and further to the Franco-Russian plant. Here the cruiser found itself in the midst of events of the February 1917 revolution. The crew joined the insurgent workers. One of the first victims of the February Revolution in Petrograd was the commander of the Aurora, an experienced seafarer, Captain 1st Rank Mikhail Ilyich Nikolsky who demanded strict discipline and unquestioning obedience from the crew. He refused to carry a red flag and was killed by rifle shots.

During the rule of the Provisional Government, the seamen from the Aurora were involved in the revolutionary movement, participated in a demonstration on July 4, 1917. During the Kornilov revolt (August 25-31), a composite company of the Aurora sailors guarded the Winter Palace for three days by the decision of the Central naval committee.

By the end of the 30s, the cruiser Aurora became totally obsolescent, and in May 1941 Admiral N.G. Kuznetsov, People's Commissar of the USSR Navy, signed a decree on conferring the name Aurora on one of the new cruisers scheduled to be laid down in 1941 within the project 68. The Aurora was in for scrapping, but that was prevented by the onset of the Great Patriotic War, and the cruiser continued its naval service as a submarine support ship.

When the troops of the German group “North” were already in the outskirts of Leningrad in September 1941, nine 130-mm guns were removed from the Aurora. They were mounted between Duderhof (settlement Mozhaisky) and Kiev Highway over the position of 12 kilometres. The gun crews were almost all killed in battles, but they detained the enemy, inflicting its huge losses in manpower and equipment. The memorials at the Crow Mountain and Kievskoye Highway were erected in memory of the heroes of the artillery squadron “A” (Aurora). Some of the smaller-calibre guns were removed from the cruiser and transferred to be mounted on the ships of Chudskaya warship flotilla in July 1941. One 130-mm gun from the Aurora was installed on an armoured train Baltiets that successfully destroyed the enemy in the vicinity of Leningrad.

The Aurora as such stayed in the military port of Oranienbaum (now Lomonosov) most of the war. In September 1941, the gun crews remaining on the cruiser repelled the fierce attacks of the enemy aviation, shooting down one aircraft. The enemy shells and air bombs resulted in the ship’s numerous under- and above-water holes. There was a threat of the cruiser’s - that got a 23° list - lying over to the right side and sinking. The courageous and resolute actions of the crew saved the day. Opening the sea inlets of the opposite side and gunning the ship, the seamen set it on the ground on even keel. In September 1944, the Aurora was raised and moved to Leningrad for repair.

ЦВМ Instagram ЦВМ Вконтакте История русского флота

Боевой путь

Под командованием капитана 1 ранга И. В. Сухотина крейсер «Аврора» осенью 1903 года направился в составе отряда контр-адмирала А. А. Вирениуса на Дальний Восток, но в связи с начавшейся Русско-японской войной был возвращен в Россию из Красного моря. Вторым командиром «Авроры» стал капитан 1 ранга Евгений Романович Егорьев — опытный моряк, много плававший в водах Дальнего Востока и до назначения на «Аврору» командовавший четырьмя кораблями.

«Аврора» была зачислена в состав 2-й Тихоокеанской эскадры под командованием вице-адмирала З. П. Рожественского, которая в сентябре 1904 года вышла на выручку осажденного японцами Порт-Артура. Плавание проходило в тяжелых навигационно-климатических условиях и сопровождалось многочисленными погрузками угля в открытом море, которые выполнялись всем экипажем корабля, в том числе офицерами. Во время угольных погрузок корабельный оркестр, подбадривая команду, играл бравурные мелодии. «Аврора» неизменно принимала рекордные двойные количества угля — до 1300 тонн, за что даже удостоилась похвалы скупого на поощрения командующего эскадрой. В декабре 1904 года Порт-Артур пал, и корабли эскадры Рожественского получили приказ прорываться во Владивосток.

Совершив героический переход в 18 тысяч миль (более 33 тысяч километров), корабли 2-й Тихоокеанской эскадры в Корейском проливе, близ островов Цусима, встретились с японским флотом. Несмотря на стойкость, мужество и героизм моряков, русская эскадра была разгромлена. «Аврора» в бою защищала транспорты, получила ряд тяжелых повреждений и была вынуждена вместе с крейсерами «Олег» и «Жемчуг» повернуть на юг, к Филиппинским островам. В Цусимском бою геройской смертью погибли командир «Авроры» капитан 1 ранга Евгений Романович Егорьев и 14 матросов, ранения получили 83 моряка. Несмотря на полученные повреждения, крейсер сохранил плавучесть, остойчивость и ход.

В порту Манила на Филиппинских островах «Аврора», «Олег» и «Жемчуг» были интернированы американской колониальной администрацией до конца войны. Боевые повреждения наскоро отремонтировали, чтобы обеспечить возвращение кораблей в Россию.

В ходе Первой мировой войны крейсер «Аврора» прошел модернизацию и перевооружение. Боевая мощь корабля существенно повысилась. Количество 6-дюймовых (152-мм) орудий главного калибра в 1915 году увеличилось с 10 до 14.

«Аврора» приняла участие в Первой мировой войне в составе Второй бригады крейсеров Балтийского флота. В нее входили корабли, построенные накануне Русско-японской войны, принимавшие участие в боях и сражениях, впоследствии модернизированные. «Аврора» обеспечивала деятельность главных сил флота, несла дозорную службу, выполняла прикрытие дозоров, минных постановок и действий тральных сил, осуществляла противовоздушную оборону баз флота. Малая скорость хода препятствовала ее использованию в дальних операциях.

Действия экипажа «Авроры» способствовали успешным операциям легких сил Балтийского флота против германских кораблей на Балтийском море и поддержке операций русской XII армии в борьбе с сухопутными силами противника на побережье Рижского залива в 1915–1916 годах.

Осенью 1916 года «Аврора» пришла на ремонт в Петроград, на Адмиралтейский, затем Франко-Русский завод. Здесь крейсер оказался в гуще событий Февральской революции 1917 года. Команда присоединилась к восставшим рабочим. Одной из первых жертв Февральской революции в Петрограде стал командир «Авроры», опытный моряк, капитан 1 ранга Михаил Ильич Никольский, насаждавший среди экипажа жесткую дисциплину и требовательность. Он отказался нести красный флаг и был убит выстрелами из винтовки.

В период правления Временного правительства матросы «Авроры» включились в революционное движение, участвовали в демонстрации 4 июля 1917 года. Во время корниловского мятежа (25–31 августа) сводная рота авроровцев по решению Центрофлота в течение трех дней несла охрану Зимнего дворца.

К концу 30-х годов крейсер «Аврора» окончательно устарел, и в мае 1941 года народный комиссар Военно-Морского Флота СССР адмирал Н. Г. Кузнецов подписал приказ о присвоении наименования «Аврора» одному из новых крейсеров проекта 68, намеченных к закладке в 1941 году. «Аврору» ожидала участь сдачи на слом, но этому помешало начало Великой Отечественной войны, и крейсер продолжал флотскую службу в качестве плавучей базы подводных лодок.

Когда войска германской группы «Север» в сентябре 1941 года оказались на ближайших подступах к Ленинграду, с «Авроры» сняли девять 130-мм орудий. Их установили между Дудергофом (пос. Можайский) и Киевским шоссе на позиции протяженностью 12 километров. Расчеты этих орудий почти все погибли в боях, но задержали продвижение противника, нанеся ему огромные потери в живой силе и технике. В память о героях-артиллеристах батареи «А» («Аврора») сооружены мемориалы у Вороньей горы и Киевского шоссе. Часть орудий меньшего калибра были сняты с крейсера и переданы в июле 1941 года на корабли Чудской военной флотилии. Одно 130-мм орудие с «Авроры» установили на бронепоезде «Балтиец», который успешно громил врага на подступах к Ленинграду.

Сама же «Аврора» почти всю войну находилась в военном порту Ораниенбаума (ныне Ломоносов). В сентябре 1941 года боевые расчеты оставшихся на крейсере артиллерийских установок отражали ожесточенные налеты авиации противника, сбив один самолет. От попаданий вражеских снарядов и авиабомб корабль получил многочисленные подводные и надводные пробоины. Возникла угроза, что крейсер, получивший крен 23°, ляжет на правый борт и затонет. Мужественные и решительные действия личного состава спасли положение. Открыв кингстоны противоположного борта и притопив корабль, моряки на ровном киле поставили его на грунт. В сентябре 1944 года «Аврору» подняли и перевели для ремонта в Ленинград.