ЦВМ Instagram ЦВМ Вконтакте История русского флота

The "Small Chaser" pavilion

The MO-4 patrol boat (submarine chaser) is a unique monument of war history, the only preserved "Submarine chaser" nowadays that took part in the Great Patriotic War.

During the siege of Leningrad two divisions of MO patrol boats served at Ladoga and got the reputation of universal boats. These were the fastest battleships that could break the enemy's water communications, guard ships and assault forces, fire against the shore objects and ships of the enemy, land the assault troops and perform tactical reconnaissance. MO patrol boats got the name of "Ladoga cruisers". But most often the MO boats had to serve as convoy to guard the slow barge caravans towed by steamboats that carried food supplies for the besieged Leningrad.

The MO type boats that were a part of the body of troops of ships guarding the water district were one-deck wooden ships with the tonnage about 65 tons. Powerful plane engines gave the boat the speed of up to 25 knots (46 km per hour). Its weapons included 45 mm universal weapons and large caliber machine guns, depth bomb throwers and smoke screen positioning equipment. Its crew included 25 people.

"Submarine Chasers" often displayed heroism in the combat operations at Lake Ladoga in 1941-1944. Thus, MO-201 patrol boats under the command of P. S. Kolesnik and MO-202 under the command of A. L. Bondarev actively participated in the evacuation of artillery divisions 168, 142 and 198 that were surrounded at the northern bank of Ladoga in August 1941. During the battle for Rahmansaari island in September 1941 the MO-206 under the command of I. P. Voloshenko displayed great valor.

The MO boats often took part in the landing of intelligence specialists behind the enemy lines during the summer of 1942. Three boats often took part in these expeditions together – MO-201, MO-213 and MO-215 under the command of senior lieutenants P. S. Kolesnik, I. I. Voronin, N. P. Epikhin, under the general command of the division commander captain lieutenant P. A. Kuriat who later became the commander of the WDD (water district defense) of the main base. Their acts of bravery were mentioned in the leaflets of the fleet political department. MO-171 under the command of V. I. Kovalevsky was specially distinguished in the battle for the Sukho island on October 22, 1942, in one of the most important combat operations at Lake Ladoga.

The patrol service of MO boats at the "small" Osinovets – Kobona route which carried out the most intensive transportation of food and ammunition supplies was quite intense. The patrol service was often carried out by the MO-215 boat under the command of lieutenant N. P. Epikhin.

The MO boats of the Ladoga navy took part in the assault forces landing operation next to the Tuloksa river in June 1944 and other operations related to the liberation of the North-West from German forces.

ЦВМ Instagram ЦВМ Вконтакте История русского флота

Павильон "Малый охотник"

Сторожевой катер МО-4 (охотник за подводными лодками) — уникальный памятник военной истории, единственный сохранившийся до наших дней «Морской охотник», участник Великой Отечественной войны.

На Ладоге в период блокады Ленинграда несли службу два дивизиона сторожевых катеров МО, которые зарекомендовали себя как корабли универсального назначения. Это были наиболее быстроходные боевые корабли, способные нарушать морские сообщения противника, охранять суда и десанты, вести стрельбу по береговым объектам и кораблям противника, высаживать десанты и осуществлять тактическую разведку. Сторожевые катера МО получили название «крейсера Ладоги». Но чаще всего катерам МО приходилось охранять в составе конвоя тихоходные караваны барж, буксируемые пароходами, которые доставляли продовольствие для блокадного Ленинграда.

Катера типа МО, входившие в состав соединения кораблей охраны водного района, представляли собой однопалубные, деревянной конструкции корабли водоизмещением порядка 65 тонн. Мощные авиационные двигатели обеспечивали катеру скорость до 25 узлов (46 км в час). Вооружение состояло из универсальных орудий 45-мм калибра и крупнокалиберных пулеметов, бомбосбрасывателей глубинных бомб и аппаратуры для постановки дымзавес. Экипаж состоял из 25 человек.

«Морские охотники» неоднократно демонстрировали героизм в боевых операциях на Ладожском озере в 1941–1944 годы. Так, сторожевые катера МО-201 под командованием П.С.Колесника и МО-202 под командованием А.Л.Бондарева принимали активное участие в эвакуации 168-й, 142-й и 198-й стрелковых дивизий, попавших в окружение на северном побережье Ладоги в августе 1941 года. В бою за остров Рахмансаари в сентябре 1941 года героически проявил себя МО-206 под командованием И.П.Волошенко.

Много раз за лето 1942 года катера МО участвовали в высадках разведчиков в тыл врага. В походах часто участвовали вместе три катера — МО-201, МО-213 и МО-215 под командованием старших лейтенантов П.С.Колесника, И.И.Воронина, Н.П.Епихина, под общим командованием командира дивизиона капитан-лейтенанта П.А.Куриата, который впоследствии стал командиром ОВРа (охраны водного района) главной базы. Об их подвигах писали в листовках политотдела флотилии. МО-171 под командованием В.И.Ковалевского особо отличился в бою за остров Сухо 22 октября 1942 года, в одной из важнейших боевых операций на Ладожском озере.

Напряженной  было несение дозорной службы МО в районе «малой» трассы Осиновец — Кобона, где происходили наиболее интенсивные перевозки продовольствия и боеприпасов. Часто дозорную службу здесь нес катер МО-215, командиром которого был лейтенант Н.П.Епихин.

Катера МО Ладожской военной флотилии принимали участие в десантной операции в районе реки Тулокса в июне 1944 года и других операциях по освобождение Северо-запада от немецко-фашистских захватчиков.