ЦВМ YouTube ЦВМ Instagram ЦВМ Вконтакте История русского флота

The creation and function of the ice route. The winter of 1941-1942

As winter came closer, the issue of providing with food the citizens of Leningrad and the forces of the front line, of the evacuation of the citizens and transportation of products intended for the army at the front line manufactured in the besieged city in the absence of navigation. The only solution of the problem was to build a route on the ice of Lake Ladoga. The organization of the ice route demanded a thorough preparation, a study of the ice regime of the lake and its peculiarities. Massive work was performed in short time and several projects of the ice route were prepared. The exposition displays the hydrographic work tools that were used during the construction of the route.

On November 19, 1941 order No. 00172 "On the organization of an auto and tractor route via Lake Ladoga" was issued to the forces of the Leningrad front line. On November 20 a caravan of sledges and carts left for the East bank. 350 carts went in the direction of Kobona where the food supplies for the starving citizens of Leningrad had been collected. On November 21, 1941 first food supplies were delivered to Osinovets, amounting to 63 tons of flour. The next day a caravan of 60 GAZ-AA cars left the West bank. Thus the famous Military Auto Route (VAD) No.101 across Ladoga came into existence. Soon this road became a part of Military Auto Route No. 102 created at the end of November 1941 and was given under the administration to the commander responsible for route No. 102. At first VAD-102 was a long ice-and-land motorway. It included the motorways of the Leningrad front line, warehouses, reloading bases and different services. But the main link of this chain was the ice route that passed directly on the ice of Lake Ladoga from the Kobona village at the East bank to the Kokarevo village at the West bank of the Shlisselburg bay.

Numerous exhibits, pictures and documents tell the story of the self-sacrificing work and fearlessness of the car drivers in the horrid conditions of the winter of 1941-1942. In order to evacuate children, old people and women from the besieged Leningrad 100 trucks with two-driver teams were additionally sent to Leningrad from the Moscow city council. Gorky sent 80 trucks, Yaroslavl sent 60. The exposition displays models of the cars of "The Road of Life": GAZ-AA, GAZ-AAA, ZIS-5 and the ZIS-8 bus. In January 1942 the citizens of Moscow sent 40 of these buses to Leningrad. Among the exhibits telling about the heroic work of the car drivers you can see the trip ticket and the route card for the ZIS-5 car of the driver I. I. Yamkov and the articles that belonged to the ice route drivers A. P. Petrov and G. I. Kostylev.

All services called to defend the ice route kept watch on it night and day. Two defense ranges were constructed on the ice at a distance of 8-12 km from the bank occupied by the enemy. Mines were planted in the area around them. 10 noninegrated artillery divisions provided the air defense. The exposition holds the battle banner of the 225th nonintegrated anti air artillery division. The fleet aviation also protected the ice route from air, together with the land artillery. The 39th destroyer air division, the 123rd destroyer air regiment and the 5th and 13th destroyer aviation regiments of the Air Force of the Baltic fleet protected "The Road of Life". The exposition displays parts of the destroyer plane that belonged to the Hero of the Soviet Union A. T. Sevastyanov. They were found and delivered by the Red rangers 29 years after the death of the pilot.

Big white tents were installed along the whole ice route – these were the so-called “ice hospitals”. Each of them had a small potbelly stove and a kettle with boiling water. Freezing drivers, soldiers defending the route and traffic controllers came into the “ice hospitals” in order to get warm.

Some exhibits in the exposition are dedicated to the hard work of medical personnel at the ice route. At the heated medical facilities those who had injuries or chilblain could receive help, and in evacuation points and evacuation hospitals the medics performed their work with excellence.

Starting from the end of March 1942 a very difficult period began in the work of the ice route – this was a period of struggle to keep it functioning. Thanks to the bravery of the drivers and the tireless efforts of all the people working at the route it kept working until April 21. On April 24 all movement of transport on the route had to stop.

During the 152 days when the ice motorway functioned Leningrad received more than 361 tons of different cargo, including 262.5 tons of food supplies. More than 550 thousand citizens of Leningrad were evacuated to the mainland.

ЦВМ YouTube ЦВМ Instagram ЦВМ Вконтакте История русского флота

Создание и функционирование ледовой дороги. Зима 1941–1942 годов

С приближением зимы остро встал вопрос об обеспечении населения Ленинграда и войск фронта, эвакуации жителей и транспортировке военной продукции для фронта, произведенной в блокадном городе, в условиях прекращения навигации. Единственным решением проблемы было строительство дороги по льду Ладожского озера. Организация ледовой трассы требовала тщательной подготовки, изучения ледового режима озера, его особенностей. За короткий срок было разработано несколько проектов ледовой дороги. В экспозиции представлены приборы для гидрографических работ, использовавшихся при прокладке дороги.

19 ноября 1941 года был подписан приказ войскам Ленинградского фронта № 00172 «Об организации автотракторной дороги через Ладожское озеро». 20 ноября на восточный берег двинулся санно-гужевой обоз, 350 упряжек направились в сторону Кобоны, где были  сосредоточены запасы продовольствия для голодающих ленинградцев. 21 ноября 1941 года в Осиновец было доставлено первое продовольствие — 63 т муки. На следующий день с западного берега вышла колонна из 60 автомобилей ГАЗ-АА, родилась знаменитая ладожская Военно-автомобильная дорога №101. Вскоре эта дорога была подчинена на правах участка начальнику созданной в конце ноября 1941 года военно-автомобильной дороги №102. Вначале ВАД-102 была ледово-сухопутной трассой большой протяженности. В ее состав входили автодорожные части Ленинградского фронта, склады, перевалочные базы, различные службы. Но главным звеном этой цепи был ледовый участок, проходивший непосредственно по льду Ладожского озера от деревни Кобона на восточном берегу до деревни Кокарево на западном берегу Шлиссельбургской губы.

Многочисленные экспонаты, фотографии и документы рассказывают о самоотверженном труде и бесстрашии водителей автомашин в тяжелейших условиях зимы 1941-1942 годов. Для эвакуации из блокадного Ленинграда детей, стариков и женщин Московский городской Совет направил 100 грузовых машин с двухсменным водительским составом, г. Горький — 80 грузовых машин, Ярославль — 60. В экспозиции представлены модели автомашин Дороги жизни ГАЗ-АА, ГАЗ-ААА, ЗИС-5 и автобуса ЗИС-8. В январе 1942 года 40 таких автобусов москвичи направили в Ленинград. Среди экспонатов, рассказывающих о героическом труде автомобилистов, путевой лист и маршрутная карточка на машину ЗИС-5 шофера И.И.Ямкова, а также вещи водителей ледовой трассы А.П.Петрова и  Г.И.Костылева.

Круглые сутки несли вахту на трассе все службы, призванные охранять ледовую дорогу. На льду в 8–12 км от берега, занятого противником, были сооружены две оборонительные полосы, подходы к ним заминировали. Противовоздушную оборону обеспечивали 10 отдельных артиллерийских дивизионов. В экспозиции представлено боевое знамя 225-го отдельного зенитного артиллерийского дивизиона. С воздуха ледовую дорогу прикрывала вместе с армейской и флотская авиация. 39-я истребительная авиационная дивизия, 123-й, 5-й и 13-й истребительные авиационные полки ВВС Балтийского флота защищали Дорогу жизни. В экспозиции представлены обломки истребителя Героя Советского Союза А.Т.Севастьянова, обнаруженные и извлеченные красными следопытами через 29 лет после гибели летчика.

По всей ледовой трассе стояли большие белые палатки – «ледовые лазареты». В каждой из них печка-буржуйка, на которой всегда стоял чайник с кипятком. В «ледовые лазареты» заходили погреться продрогшие водители, бойцы-дорожники, регулировщики.

В экспозиции представлены экспонаты, рассказывающие о самоотверженной работе медиков на ледовой трассе. В обогревательных санитарно-медицинских пунктах оказывали помощь раненым и обмороженным, в эвакопунктах и эвакогоспиталях медики с честью выполняли свою работу.

С конца марта 1942 года наступил очень трудный период в работе ледовой дороги —борьба за продление ее существования. Благодаря мужеству водителей, а также  героическим усилиям остальных людей,  работавших на дороге, она функционировала до 21 апреля. 24 апреля было прекращено движение всех видов транспорта.

За 152 дня существования ледовой автомобильной дороги Ленинград получил более 361 тысячи т различных грузов, в том числе 262,5 тысячи т продовольствия. Было эвакуировано на Большую землю более 550 тысяч ленинградцев.