ЦВМ YouTube ЦВМ Instagram ЦВМ Вконтакте История русского флота

Operational record

The 68bis-project light gun cruiser "Mikhail Kutuzov" (factory No. C-385) was laid on the stocks of the Black Sea Shipyard in Nikolaev (now Ukraine) on February 22, 1951. On November 29, 1951 the launch of the cruiser took place.

On August 9, 1954 the USSR naval ensign was hoisted on the cruiser. That day is considered the birth day of the cruiser. On January 31, 1955, the cruiser was enlisted in the structure of warships of the Black Sea Fleet. The cruiser was based in the main harbour of the Black Sea Fleet - hero city Sevastopol. As a combat unit, the cruiser was among ships of instant-readiness 1st line until October 1988; after modernization it was withdrawn from the permanent readiness forces and transferred to the 3-category reserve, i.e. immobilized. The cruiser stayed in the state of immobilization until August 28, 1998; subsequently it was withdrawn from the line of combat ships and categorized as "military property"; a branch of the Black Sea Fleet museum was set up in the premises of the cruiser. On August 23, 2001, the cruiser "Mikhail Kutuzov" took its last passage from Sevastopol to Novorossiysk, tugged by a tow-boat.

On August 25, 2001 the cruiser arrived at Novorossiysk where it was placed at the berth of the marine passenger terminal of the city for eternal moorage.

Returning to the 1950s, let us note that in May 1955 the first shipborne helicopters Ка-15 and Ми-1 were tested on board of the cruiser.

On October 29, 1955 the battleship "Novorossiysk" exploded in Sevastopol at the inner anchorage. A wrecking party of 35 persons from the cruiser "Mikhail Kutuzov" was assigned to render help to the battleship in distress; 27 of them perished...

In the summer of 1957, the cruiser made a passage Sevastopol - Leningrad – Sevastopol, to take part in the celebration of the Navy Day on the Neva. It covered 4,500 miles.

On September 14, 1958, the Eternal Flame from Sevastopol, Malakhov Burial Mound, was delivered to Novorossiysk on board the cruiser "Mikhail Kutuzov". The Eternal flame was lit on Heroes Square in Novorossiysk.

In June 1964, "Mikhail Kutuzov", along with the large anti-submarine ship "Soznatelny" (Conscious) and the large anti-submarine ship "Komsomolets of Ukraine" entered the Mediterranean Sea for combat service.

On March 31, 1969, the cruiser "Mikhail Kutuzov" became a flagship of the 30th Division of naval surface ships of the Black Sea Fleet.

In March-April 1970, the cruiser took part in the broad naval play-war "Ocean", where all the fleets were involved.

In 1968-1973, the cruiser "Mikhail Kutuzov" repeatedly took part in rendering "fraternal military international aid" to a number of Arab countries: Syria, Lebanon, Egypt, in the war against Israel.

Long-distance marches became a true school for many generations of seamen, and the cruiser deck turned into a breeding ground for raining military officers and fleet admirals (17 admirals, 78 1st rank captains); over 700 seamen were awarded with USSR orders and medals.

The crew of the cruiser carried the Soviet Naval ensign over many seas and oceans honourably, meeting all the tasks assigned to it. Exercising its mission aimed to strengthen peace, trust and friendship among the world nations, the ship visited the ports of Yugoslavia, Albania, Egypt, Syria, Lebanon, Romania, Bulgaria. In total, the cruiser "Mikhail Kutuzov", within the period of its active service, made 15 long-distance marches and military operations, covered over 220,000 miles.

In the 60-80s of the last century, the cruiser "Mikhail Kutuzov" was patronized by the Komsomol organization of Novorossiysk. Many of local recruits went through the school of courage and got a toehold aboard the cruiser. "Mikhail Kutuzov" very often called on Tsemes Bay. Therefore, it is no coincidence that the place of the last moorage of the cruiser is Novorossiysk.

ЦВМ YouTube ЦВМ Instagram ЦВМ Вконтакте История русского флота

Боевой путь

Легкий артиллерийский крейсер проекта 68бис «Михаил Кутузов» (заводской № С-385) был заложен на стапеле Черноморского судостроительного завода в г. Николаеве (ныне Украина) 22 февраля 1951 года. 29 ноября 1951 года состоялся спуск корпуса крейсера на воду.

9 августа 1954 года на крейсере был поднят Военно-морской флаг СССР. Этот день считается днем рождения крейсера. 31 января 1955 года крейсер был зачислен в состав боевых кораблей Черноморского флота. Базировался крейсер в главной базе Черноморского флота — в городе-герое Севастополе. Как боевая единица крейсер находился в составе кораблей 1-й линии постоянной готовности по октябрь 1988 года и после произведенной модернизации был выведен из состава сил постоянной готовности и переведен в резерв 3-й категории, т.е. законсервирован. В состоянии консервации крейсер находился до 28 августа 1998 года, затем он был выведен из состава боевых кораблей флота и переведен в разряд «военного имущества» и на базе крейсера был создан филиал музея ЧФ. 23 августа 2001 года с помощью буксира крейсер «Михаил Кутузов» совершил свой последний переход из Севастополя в порт Новороссийск.

25 августа 2001 года крейсер прибыл в Новороссийск, где был поставлен на вечную стоянку у причала Морского вокзала города.

Вернувшись в 1950-е годы, отметим, что в мае 1955 года на борту крейсера проводились испытания первого корабельного вертолета Ка-15 и Ми-1.

29 октября 1955 года в Севастополе на внутреннем рейде взорвался линкор «Новороссийск». Для оказания помощи терпящему бедствие линкору с крейсера «Михаил Кутузов» была выделена аварийно-спасательная партия, состоящая из 35 человек, 27 из них погибли…

Летом 1957 года крейсер совершил переход Севастополь — Ленинград — Севастополь для участия в праздновании Дня Военно-Морского Флота на Неве. Было пройдено 4500 миль.

14 сентября 1958 года на борту крейсера «Михаил Кутузов» в Новороссийск был доставлен Вечный огонь из Севастополя, с Малахова кургана. Вечный огонь был зажжен на площади Героев в городе Новороссийске.

В июне 1964 года «Михаил Кутузов», большой противолодочный корабль (БПК) «Сознательный», БПК «Комсомолец Украины» вышли в Средиземное море для проведения боевой службы.

31 марта 1969 года крейсер «Михаил Кутузов» стал флагманским кораблем 30-й дивизии надводных кораблей ЧФ.

В марте - апреле 1970 года крейсер принимает участие в общефлотских учениях «Океан», в которых были задействованы все флоты.

В 1968-1973 годах крейсер «Михаил Кутузов» неоднократно принимал участие в оказании «братской военной интернациональной помощи» арабским странам: Сирии, Ливану, Египту в войне против Израиля.

Дальние походы стали настоящей школой для многих поколений моряков, а палуба крейсера превратилась в кузницу боевых офицеров и адмиралов флота (17 адмиралов, 78 капитанов 1 ранга), более 700 моряков были награждены орденами и медалями СССР.

Экипаж крейсера достойно пронес советский Военно-морской флаг по многим морям и океанам, успешно выполняя все поставленные перед ним задачи. Осуществляя свою миссию, служившую укреплению мира, доверия и дружбы между народами, корабль посетил порты Югославии, Албании, Египта, Сирии, Ливана, Румынии, Болгарии. В общей сложности крейсер «Михаил Кутузов» за период своей активной службы совершил 15 дальних походов и боевых служб, шел более 220000 миль.

Шефство над крейсером «Михаил Кутузов» в 60-80-е годы прошлого века осуществляла комсомольская организация города Новороссийска. Многие здешние призывники прошли школу мужества и получили путевку в жизнь на борту крейсера. «Михаил Кутузов» очень часто заходил в Цемесскую бухту. Поэтому не случайно место последней стоянки крейсера — Новороссийск.