ЦВМ YouTube ЦВМ Instagram ЦВМ Вконтакте История русского флота

Structure of ship

The main purpose of the cruiser is fire support in amphibious operations, escort of maritime convoys, reconnaissance, actions on enemy's communications, mine-laying operations.

Length - 210 m, width - 22 m, draught - 7.5 m, full load displacement – 16,640 t. Crew – 1,129 persons: 70 officers, 89 midshipmen and 970 military-conscription sailors.

To ensure the ship's damage control and subdivision, its hull is divided by watertight bulkheads into 16 main compartments. The cruiser has 3 decks (foredeck, 1st and 2nd continuous decks) and 3 platforms. The upper deck of the cruiser has a wooden flooring.

According to the tactical requirements, in case of flooding of three adjacent compartments, the cruiser stayed afloat; the (design) critical angle of vanishing is 89 degrees.

To protect the crucial parts of the cruiser, general and local armouring is provided. The bulk of the armour was applied to the armoured box (ribs from the 32nd to the 170th), consisting of an armour belt (100 mm) and beams (forward – 120 mm, sternmost – 100 mm) covered with 50 mm protected deck (2nd complete deck); the conning tower armouring - 130 mm. The subsurface protection from torpedo and mine weapons was provided by the double bottom.

The power generating unit of the cruiser "Mikhail Kutuzov" comprised a steam-turbine mechanical twin-shaft unit and an electrotechnical unit; it was located in 12 compartments. The mechanical unit included six main steam generators of КВ-68 (КГ-68) type. They were placed with auxiliary mechanisms in gas-watertight compartments - in boiler rooms. Two main geared-turbine units of ТВ-72 type, with the capacity of 55,000 hp, were installed in the engine rooms. This allowed the cruiser to develop the maximum speed of up to 32 knots (60 km/h). Using the endurance speed (18 knots), the cruiser could cover 7,500 miles. The steering electro-hydraulic machine was in the steering room. A separate hall housed an auxiliary boiler installation providing due operation of the turbine generators and fire safety upon the ship's anchorage.

Fuel endurance (fuel oil) – 3,800 tons, drinking water - 95 tons, boiler water - 420 tons.

The electric power generation was provided by five turbo-generators of ТД-6 type and four diesel generators of ДГ-300 type with a capacity of 300 kW each.

The stock of water and food supplies enabled the cruiser to be in independent cruise for up to 30 days. The cruiser had no restrictions in terms of navigability.

The availability of two high-capacity evaporators for production of boiler water, reliable in use, provided the crew with washing water.

In general, the 68bis-project cruiser is one of the best world naval surface ships of this class in armament, seaworthiness and survivability. It is not by chance that a silhouette of the 68bis-project cruiser adorns one of the most honorary badges of the Soviet Navy - "For long-distance march".

The cruiser "Mikhail Kutuzov" was entirely built from domestic materials, its hull was all-welded. It was destined to become a major achievement in the world and national shipbuilding.

The cruiser is a "living organism", throughout permeated with cable tracks, pipelines, with numerous electric shields, junction boxes. The cruiser has 2,500 premises of various purpose: air blower houses, modular-type posts, sponsons, crew quarters, cabins, storerooms, combat stations, partitioned sections. The ship had its own printing house, library, reading room, bath and laundry facilities, bakery, metalwork shop, medical unit, club, shoemaking workshop.

There was also a repair depot on board the cruiser - metalwork shop. The equipment allowed the crew to carry out in fact any repair work directly in the sea - electric welding, gas cutting, machining, electrical installation, etc.

ЦВМ YouTube ЦВМ Instagram ЦВМ Вконтакте История русского флота

Устройство корабля

Основное предназначение крейсера — огневая поддержка при проведении морских десантных операций, сопровождение морских конвоев, ведение разведки, действия на коммуникациях противника, осуществление минных постановок.

Длина 210 м, ширина 22 м, осадка 7,5 м, полное водоизмещение 16640 т. Экипаж 1129 человек: 70 офицеров, 89 мичманов и 970 матросов срочной службы.

Для обеспечения живучести и непотопляемости крейсера его корпус разделен водонепроницаемыми переборками на 16 главных отсеков. Крейсер имеет 3 палубы (палуба бака, 1-я и 2-я непрерывные палубы) и 3 платформы. Верхняя палуба крейсера имеет деревянный настил.

Согласно тактическому формуляру при затоплении трех смежных отсеков крейсер оставался на плаву, критический угол заката диаграммы остойчивости (расчетный) составлял 89 градусов.

Для защиты жизненно важных частей крейсера предусмотрено общее и местное бронирование. Основная масса брони приходилась на цитадель (от 32-го до 170-го шпангоута), состоящую из броневого пояса (100 мм) и траверзов (носового — 120 мм, кормового — 100 мм), накрытых 50-мм защитной палубой (2-я непрерывная палуба), бронирование боевой рубки — 130 мм. Подводная защита от воздействия торпедного и минного оружия обеспечивалась двойным дном.

Энергетическая установка крейсера «Михаил Кутузов» состояла из паротурбинной механической 2-вальной и электротехнической установок и располагалась в 12 отсеках. В состав механической установки входило шесть главных парогенераторов типа КВ-68 (КГ-68). Они размещались со вспомогательными механизмами в газоводонепроницаемых отсеках — в котельных отделениях. Два главных турбозубчатых агрегата типа ТВ-72 мощностью по 55 000 л.с., были установлены в машинных отделениях. Это позволяло крейсеру развивать максимальную скорость хода до 32 уз (60 км/ч). Экономическим ходом (18 уз) крейсер мог пройти 7500 миль. Рулевая электрогидравлическая машина находилась в румпельном отделении. В отдельном помещении размещалась вспомогатель­ная котельная установка, обеспечивающая работу турбогенераторов и пожаробезо­пасность при стоянке корабля на якоре.

Запасы топлива (мазут) — 3800 т, воды питьевой — 95 т, воды котельной — 420 т.

Выработку электроэнергии обеспечивали пять турбогенераторов типа ТД-6 и четыре дизель-генератора типа ДГ-300 мощностью по 300 кВт каждый.

По запасам воды и продовольствия крейсер мог находиться в автономном плавании до 30 суток. По мореходности у крейсера ограничений не было.

Наличие двух надежных в эксплуатации и большой производительности испарите­лей для производства котельной воды обеспечивало экипаж водой для мытья.

В целом по вооружению, мореходным качествам и живучести крейсер пр. 68бис является одним из лучших в мире надводных кораблей этого класса. Отнюдь не случайно силуэт крейсера пр. 68бис украшает один из самых почетных нагрудных знаков ВМФ СССР — жетон «За дальний поход».

Крейсер «Михаил Кутузов» был целиком построен из отечественных материалов, имел цельносварной корпус. Ему суждено было стать крупным достижением в мировом и отечественном судостроении.

Крейсер — это «живой организм», насквозь пронизанный кабель-трассами, трубопроводами, со множеством электрических щитов, соединительных коробок. На крейсере 2500 помещений различного назначения: вентиляторные, агрегатные посты, барбеты, кубрики, каюты, кладовые, боевые посты, выгородки. Была своя типография, библиотека, читальный зал, банно-прачечный комбинат, хлебопекарня, слесарная мастерская, медицинский блок, клуб, сапожная мастерская.

На борту крейсера имелась и своя ремонтная база — слесарная мастерская. Оборудование позволяло проводить практически любые ремонтные работы прямо в море — электросварочные, газорезательные, станочные, электромонтажные и др.